October 3-11 215
You are here: Event Info > Albuquerque Aloft
Printer Friendly Print this page

Albuquerque Aloft

Many pilots who are registered for Balloon Fiesta sign up to participate in Albuquerque Aloft. Pilots teather or launch their balloons from selected school grounds in Albuquerque and Rio Rancho on the Friday morning before Balloon Fiesta.

Albuquerque Aloft has grown tremendously since the first event in 2005, and continues to bring the joy of ballooning directly to children in their school playgrounds. It is a great way to kick off the beginning of the nine days of Balloon Fiesta every October. Parents, students and teachers alike have the opportunity to meet the pilots and crew, and experience the excitement of watching and learning how a balloon flies. Albuquerque Aloft also provides city residents and guests a visual preview of Balloon Fiesta, as balloons launch from different sites around the city simultaneously.

Balloonists at selected schools may elect to fly from the campus or may remain inflated at the school site. Weather permitting; inflation is scheduled at approximately 6:45-7:00 a.m., with launch scheduled for 7:00 -7:30  a.m. The simultaneous launch is coordinated by KKOB AM Radio, the “official voice” of Balloon Fiesta.
Schools are encouraged to invite parents and students to be on hand for the event, and groups at some schools offer refreshments for sale, adding to the fun.

Albuquerque Aloft is the only Balloon Fiesta event in which balloons launch from pre-designated sites outside of Balloon Fiesta Park. The following is a list of the 2015 participating schools. The pilots that will scheduled to launched from each school will be added as the assignments are made.


Albuquerque Schools

Schools Pilots
Adobe Acres
1724 Camino Del Valle SW, 87105
6500 Sunset Gardens Rd SW, 87105
1100 Solar Rd NW, 87107
12800 Copper St NE, 87123
1440 Gatewood Rd SW, 87105
Arroyo Del Oso
6504 Harper NE, 87109
1201 Atrisco Rd SW, 87105
2311 Barcelona Rd SW, 87105
Bel Air
4725 Candelaria Rd NW, 87110
8701 Princess Jeanne St NE, 87112
Carlos Rey
1215 Cerrillos Rd SW, 87121
5401 Homestead Circle NW, 87120
6325 Milne Rd NW, 87120
12701 Constitution Ave NW, 87112
3100 San Isidro Rd NW, 87107
Collet Park
2100 Morris St NE, 87112
3505 Pennsylvania St NE, 87110
200 Target Rd , 87048
Dennis Chavez
7500 Barstow NE, 87109
Double Eagle
8901 Lowell NE, 87122
2436 Zickert Rd NW, 87104
E.G. Ross
6700 Palomas NE, 87109
Edward Gonzales
554 90th St SW, 87121
620 Georgia St SW, 87108
9717 Indian School Rd NW, 87112
Georgia O'Keeffe
11701 San Victorio NE, 87111
Governor Bent
5700 Hendrix Rd NW, 87110
4040 San Isidro NW, 87107
420 General Somervell St NE, 87123
1700 Pennsylvania St NE, 87110
John Baker
12015-B Tivoli NE, 87111
La Mesa
7500 Copper Ave NE, 87108
Los Padillas
2525 Los Padillas Rd SW, 87105
Los Ranchos
7609 Fourth St NW, 87107
Marie M. Hughes
5701 Mojave NW, 87120
Mark Twain
6316 Constitution Ave NE, 87110
Matheson Park
10809 Lexington St NE, 87112
10900 San Jacinto NE, 87112
Mission Avenue
725 Mission Ave NE, 87107
10121 Comanche Rd NE, 87111
Monte Vista
3211 Monte Vista Blvd NE, 87106
2936 Hughes Rd SW, 87105
North Star
9301 Ventura NE, 87122
4715 Moon St NE, 87111
Painted Sky
8101 Gavin Dr NW, 87120
Reginald Chavez
2700 Mountain Rd NW, 87104
Rudolfo Anaya
2800 Vermejo Park Dr SW, 87121
S.R. Marmon
1800 72nd St NW, 87120
S.Y. Jackson
4720 Cairo Dr NE, 87111
Sombra Del Monte
9110 Shoshone Rd NE, 87111
Tierra Antigua
8121 Rainbow Blvd NW, 87120
701 Tomasita St NE, 87123
Valle Vista
1700 Mae Ave SW, 87105
Ventana Ranch
6801 Ventana Village Rd, 87114
440 Jefferson St NE, 87108

Rio Rancho Schools

Schools Pilots
Cielo Azul
1550 34th Ave NE, 87144
Colinas del Norte
1001 23rd Ave NE, 87144
Enchanted Hills
5400 Obregon Rd NE, 87144
Ernest Stapleton
3400 8th Ave NE, 87124
Maggie Cordova
1500 Verabda Rd SE, 87124
Martin Luther King Jr
1301 27th Ave SE, 87124
Puesta del Sol
450 Southern Blve SE, 87124
Rio Rancho
4601 Pepe Ortiz SE, 87124
Sandia Vista
6800 Franklin Rd NE, 87144
Shining Stars
4477 9th Ave NE, 87124
Vista Grande
7001 Chayote Rd NE, 87144

Balloon Fiesta Park

(For GPS planning only)
5000 Balloon Fiesta Pkwy NE

Mailing address

4401 Alameda NE
Albuquerque, NM 87113


Local: (505) 821-1000